Triund Hill

Triund Hill is not an hill. This label simply downplays one of the most amazing places I’ve ever seen. It is the ridge that overlooks Dharamsala, 2,875mt high, and is a main gate for trekking in the Dhauladhar range, which is part of the Himalaya chain. All the lodges on top of the ridge are simple, but they give the chance of sleeping in robust tent, providing also quite warm sleeping bags. I was told by some local guys of a less beaten, more steep but more spectacular path, which cut and then coast the ridge to the top. So I packed very light and I made my way up. I’ ve been alone the most of the time. I just bumped into the young Rahul  and his uncle, who live on the hills, and some condors (I’m not an expert, but they really look like) feasting with a dead cow.  No more words to explain the rest.

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

Step by step, the Dhauladhar appeared mighty in his white vest, leaving behind a boundless  panorama of the lowland. At my lodge there were just Suba, the attentive keeper, and Sukhdeep, an Indian buddy who I met there and I share the tent with.

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

The morning after we woke up at dawn. Sukhdeep was directed downhill. I had other plans. I didn’t expect neither to reach a snow-line, nor to step over it. I tried to arrive to the Lahesh Cave, at about 3700mt, joining a Tibetan guy which was by himself as me. Even if he spread optimism with his shorts and Vans, the weather changed and I decided to make my way down. My sight was already brimful of beauty.

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

untitled

Photo:Matteo Fabi

3 thoughts on “Triund Hill

Leave a Reply

